London Borough of Islington

Audit Committee and Audit Committee (Advisory) - 11 June 2018

Minutes of the meeting of the Audit Committee and Audit Committee (Advisory) held at Committee Room 4, Town Hall, Upper Street, N1 2UD on 11 June 2018 at 6.30 pm.

Present:	Councillors:	Nick Wayne (Chair), Sue Lukes (Vice-Chair), Satnam Gill OBE, Una O'Halloran.
Also Present:	Independent member:	Alan Begg

Councillor Nick Wayne in the Chair

1 <u>APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE (Item A1)</u>

Apologies were received from Independent Member, Nick Whitaker.

2 DECLARATION OF SUBSTITUTE MEMBERS (Item A2)

There were no declarations of substitute members.

3 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST (Item A3)

There were no declarations of interest.

4 MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING (Item A4)

RESOLVED:

That the minutes of the meeting held on 19 March 2018 be confirmed as an accurate record of proceedings and the Chair be authorised to sign them.

5 <u>MEMBERSHIP, TERMS OF REFERENCE AND DATES OF MEETINGS (Item C1)</u> <u>RESOLVED</u>

That the membership appointed by Council on the 24 May 2018, terms of reference and dates of meetings of the of the Audit and Audit (Advisory) Committee for the municipal year 2018/2019 as set out at Appendix A be noted.

6 <u>AUDIT COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS 2018/2019 (Item C2)</u> <u>RESOLVED</u>

A. <u>Pensions Sub-Committee</u>

- a) That the size of the Sub-Committees and the Terms of Reference be confirmed.
- b) That the following members be appointed to the Pensions Sub-Committee for the municipal year 2018/2019.

Members	Substitute Members
David Poyser (Chair)	Angela Picknell
Andy Hull (Vice-Chair)	Flora Williamson
Mick O'Sullivan	Jenny Kay
Sue Lukes	Mouna Hamitouche

c) That Councillor Poyser be appointed Chair and Councillor Hull be appointed Vice-Chair of the Pensions Sub-Committee for the municipal year 2018/2019 or until successors are appointed.

B. <u>Personnel Sub-Committee</u>

- a) That the size of the Sub-Committee and the Terms of Reference be confirmed.
- b) That the following members be appointed to the Personnel Sub-Committee for the municipal year 2018/2019.

Councillors	Substitute Members
Nick Wayne (Chair)	All other Executive members
Richard Watts	
Andy Hull	
Roulin Khondoker	
Satnam Gill	

c) That Councillor Nick Wayne be appointed Chair of the Personnel Sub-Committee for the municipal year 2018/19 or until successors are appointed.

C. <u>Pensions Board</u>

- a) That the following appointments for the Pensions Board be noted:-
- the re-appointment of Marion Oliver as a pensioner member representative and Thelma Harvey as a substitute pensioner representative for a one year term from 4 June 2018.
- The following appointments for a four year term from 4 June 2015 or until successors are appointed:-

Mike Calvert, Unison, as a member representative; David Bennett – as Independent Member; Maggie Elliott – Chair of Governors at Montem School as employer representative;

- b) To note that there is an employer representative vacancy.
- c) To note the appointment of George Sharkey, GMB, as a member representative for a four year term with effect from 26 May 2017.
- d) To appoint Councillor Paul Smith as Chair of the Pensions Board.

The meeting ended at 6.35 pm

CHAIR